2016 in Review

It’s unbelievable how much can happen in just 365 days! If you’d like – take a trip down memory lane with our recaps from 2011201220132014, 2015 or keep reading for our review of 2016.
 2016recap
This year…
  • We both turned 27 years old.
  • We celebrated 13 years together + our 5th wedding anniversary.
  • We got pregnant! Our baby boy is due Feb. 2017 and we’re beyond excited.
  • We officially became debt free! Bye bye student loans and car loans.
  • We continued to work for the same companies we’ve been at the last 5 yeas. Ryan’s in the returns department at an electrical supply distributor and I’m a recruiter at a search firm that focuses on engineering/automation.
  • We were able to be a part of big days in our friends and families’ lives; notably Elecia + Austin’s wedding, Nicole + Brian’s wedding, my brother’s graduation from college, and our friends, Brandon + Sarah, buying a cafe and announcing they’re expecting a baby.
  • We also traveled to Kauai, got new tattoos, started brewing kombucha, discovered new games to play (check out Quixx and Betrayal at House on the Hill), and spent a lot of time with friends and family.

What a year it’s been! Can’t wait to see what 2017 will bring; it’s sure to be a wild one! 

4 thoughts on “2016 in Review

  1. I stumbled upon your blog when I was researching the LEAP diet. Your LEAP series gave me hope to stick with it! I’m still in Phase 1 and 2 (day 6 to be exact. My dietician is having me do Phase 1 and 2 simultaneously.) I’m sticking to all my allowed foods, but it is hard! It’s a mental challenge, really. I find myself “mourning” the loss of the foods I used to reach for all the time. haha Anyways, I am staying positive and hoping for the best outcome. :) I noticed your baby boy is due this month! Congratulations! Wishing you all the best! xx

    • Amy – thanks for taking the time to write! Definitely stick with it! It is such a challenge but you learn so much and (hopefully!) feel so much better after. LEAP impacted my life in many ways and I’m very grateful I went through it. I wish you all the best on your LEAP journey!

      I will be honest and say that I don’t eat as cleanly as I used to, but after 2 years I can tell my gut has healed a lot. I’m also able to tolerate a few of the things on my yellow/red list as long as I watch the amount I eat and don’t over indulge in them too often. Another great thing about going through LEAP is it makes you mentally tough should you need to alter your eating again. You’ve been through it once so you know you can do it again and although it’s not fun and is hard work, you know it’s worth it so that keeps you gong. :)

      Good luck + stay strong! And, thanks for the well-wishes, we hope to be meeting our sweet little one soon.

thanks for commenting!