currently

reading | nothing right now but I hope to start “After the Fear” by Rosanne Rivers soon. It’s a young adult book, dystopian fiction – think “Hunger Games”.

listening | to new jams and old favorites. You can check out my playlist for the month here.

watching | Nurse Jackie on Netflix. I’m addicted!

eating | Whole30 style! That’s right, after completing the Whole30 in August, I’ve decided to do a second round to start this new year off fresh. You can follow along on Instagram; I’m almost one week in!

drinking | homemade kombucha. I got hooked on kombucha (a fizzy fermented tea drink + probiotic beverage) last year but since it can be expensive (a 16oz bottle is about $4) I decided to try to make my own. I followed this video, successfully grew my first SCOBY (a culture/symbiotic colony of bacteria and yeast that’s needed to ferment tea), and began brewing. I now make a new batch every week or two and occasionally do a second ferment (which allows you to flavor the kombucha tea). The natural flavor of kombucha is a delicious but acquired taste, so it’s fun to jazz it up a bit by adding ginger, berries, or other fruits/herbs. My favorites flavors are grape and blackberry. After the fermentation stage, you’re left with a tart, effervescent beverage that’s tasty and good for your digestion and gut health. A definite win/win! If you’re ever interested in brewing your own, I have free “baby SCOBYs” available if you don’t want to start from scratch. Just ask and I’ll be happy to pass one along to you.

working | on my fitness by attending zumba and yoga classes weekly. I also received a FitBit for Christmas so I’ve been focusing on my steps. (Want to be FitBit friends? Add me!)

enjoying | cozy winter weekends

playing | the Wizard Card Game; I’m still obsessed!

wishing | my dry skin away! Thankfully, I got the best package in the mail yesterday that should help. See, I have the biggest crush on a skincare line called Leahlani Skincare. It’s handmade with love in Hawaii and is all natural, organic perfection. The collection is full of dreamy serums, masks, and cleansers that smooth and moisturize your skin while bathing you in heavenly island scents. It’s divine! I’ve been using Leah’s creations for over a year and they’ve replaced almost everything in my bath+beauty bag. I recommend these products to pretty much anyone who will listen. So do yourself a favor and unlock the magic that is Leahlani Skincare. It’s an indulgence but I promise you won’t be disappointed! I for one cannot live without her Champange Serum and Honey Love 3-in-1. I also have been using the new Bless Beauty Balm and can tell it’s going to be another must-have of mine. So moisturizing and it smells fantastic (husband approved too!).

organizing | a big trip for March. After paying off our student loan debt and one car loan, we wanted to do something special. Also, our fifth wedding anniversary is coming up this year (in September) so we decided to celebrate early and escape to somewhere warm. After much debate we’ve chosen to go back to Hawaii. It’s just such a great place to experience that perfect blend of relaxation and adventure. We’re headed to Kauai this time and couldn’t be more excited!

So that’s me…what’s current with you guys?

4 thoughts on “currently

    • I really just followed the video I linked to but will keep track of tips and tricks and post about making kombucha in a few months. I bought a warming pad for my brew in the hopes it will yield better carbonation. Once I’ve had time to test that out and come up with a few more recipes for flavors – I’ll do a little booch post. Thanks for the idea!

thanks for commenting!

