Let your hair down with Camille Albane Paris

Last Wednesday, I attended the grand opening party for Camille Albane Paris, a new salon in Maple Grove, MN.

Now, I know some of you are laughing because it’s clearly not my normal scene (I mean what’s a girl who air dries & doesn’t own a straightener/curling iron doing at a salon opening!) but it was a really nice night out, a chance to mingle with a few of my fellow MN Bloggers (Jen, Zhenya, + Shelby), and welcome a new business to the Twin Cities community.

Plus, I finally got to learn more about “balayage” – a freehand hair coloring technique that Pinterest everyone’s been raving about. It’s actually been around since the 70s but is having resurgence alongside the new ombre trend.

After the event we were invited to stop back in to try out a few of Camille Albane’s services so yesterday Jen & I headed over for an evening of pampering. We were greeted by our lovely stylists and shown around the salon. It’s fresh and modern, with pops of color, and the right balance of relaxation and flirty fun.

camillealbane1

My stylist, Michelle, and I chatted about my usual hair routine, texture, expectations, and inspiration – then it was off to shampoo. And guys? It was heavenly! You get all wrapped up in a robe and recline in a fabulous massage chair while the stylist gently scrubs and massages your scalp into submission. Lovely.

(Oh, and did I mention I left obsessed with music they were playing? Yeah, if someone can get me a copy of their soundtrack I’ll be forever grateful. )

camille2

Back in the chair, Michelle began to expertly cut my locks. We talked about the training they received from Camille Albane’s Paris instructors and then chit-chatted about make-up, work, what it’s like coming from small towns, food/chemical sensitivities, and how eating whole foods can have such an impact on your mind + body.

I was then treated to a paraffin wax treatment for my hands as my hair was dried and styled. Meanwhile, Jen was across the salon finishing up the coloring process.

Before the grand reveal, the stylists touched up our make-up which is a free (and thoughtful) addition to Camille Albane’s services. After all, you want to leave looking + feeling your best, which may not be the case if your lip gloss has faded or your foundation is speckled with water from a shampooing session.

Finally, we were ready to take a look in the mirror…

camille3

…. and bam! Bombshells.

I was so impressed with my cut – finally someone who knows how to do great layers. (Thanks, Michelle!)

Seriously though, our stylists were fabulous and we left there feeling positively gorgeous.

So, if you’re on the hunt for a new salon, want to give balayage a try, or desire a little Parisian pampering – definitely jot yourself a note about the new Camille Albane!

7808 Main Street North, Maple Grove, MN, 55369

763-316-6957  |  Website  |  Services & Prices

Screen Shot 2014-08-22 at 5.12.54 PM

camille4

 

8 thoughts on “Let your hair down with Camille Albane Paris

    • aw, thanks! :) and I so would, I really miss all my berry lip shades, but sadly Red Dye 40 and I are not friends at the moment. I’m looking into alternative lip options on Etsy – finding lots of natural ones but often made with beets (another thing I must avoid) so I’m hoping to luck out with some fruity colored ones instead :)

  1. SO CUTE! I love the hair! I think the last person to give me layers kind of hacked it weird so I’m a bit gun shy this time around. haha.

    • Thanks! I love it too :) And I was in the same boat. I had similar hair, to the new cut I have now, back in H.S. But since then, no one can do it right and it always looks like I used a weedwhacker or something lol So I let it grow straight and only added tiny layers at the bottom for years ‘n years. Glad I took the chance again :) Bringing really specific and good inspiration pics is key…. well that and not going for a $12 haircut like I usually do. Nothing wrong with that in some cases – but not when you’re looking for something a little more complicated.

      On Thu, Aug 21, 2014 at 9:06 AM, Mr.C & Me wrote:

      >

thanks for commenting!

