Living LEAP: Phase 3 & Phase 4

Don’t know what LEAP/MRT is? Missed the start of this series? Click here to catch up!

Since my last recap, I have finished Phase 3 and am almost done with Phase 4.  Looking forward to moving into Phase 5 soon!

The foods I can introduce during Phase 3 include:

clam, tuna, shrimp, rye, barley, amaranth, cranberry, papaya, honeydew melon, whey, cane sugar, carob, garlic, parsley

So far, from Phase 3, I have successfully tested / added back: 

honeydew melon, shrimp, squash, cranberry, cane sugar, papaya, tuna, parsley, rye

The foods I can introduce during Phase 4 include:

chicken, catfish, lentil, kamut, wheat, blueberry, cantaloupe, cherry, American cheese, sunflower seeds, oregano, mango

So far, from Phase 4, I have successfully tested / added back: 

chicken, kamut, wheat, blueberry, cantaloupe, cherry, American cheese (think Kraft Singles, gross), sunflower seeds, oregano, mango

I have a few things left to test from Phase 4 before moving into Phase 5 where I can try turkey, sole, watermelon, pineapple, grape, hazelnut, and pistachio.

Fotor0523140718

 

How I’m feeling: Really good! My skin looks great (save for the occasional, unavoidable hormonal breakout). I have lost 20 lbs since Christmas. My pants no longer fit and are givin’ me “saggy butt” but I feel healthy and energized. Although I have reintroduced wheat, corn, and certain cheeses, I notice if I have them in excess they start to bog me down and I feel tired/groggy. I’ll be working on keeping my portion/dosage amounts at a decent level so I can stay feeling light and awake.

Also, since I’ve added so many foods back to my menu, I notice I sometimes get into a rut and eat the same things over and over again. This is not a good thing! Eating on a rotation and having plenty of variety is key to keeping food sensitivities in check. I need to get back into the kitchen, meal plan, and keep finding inspiration for new dishes and snacks.

And for those who asked, yes, I can go out to eat but it’s not super fun since I always have to watch what ingredients/seasonings might be used. That being said, I am lucky because the more foods I add to my menu the easier it is to find something to eat. My usual go-tos if we are out at a restaurant are bun-less hamburgers with cheese, french fries (as long as I check the oil they are fried in), baked potatoes, cottage cheese, asparagus, or fresh fruit. But don’t be afraid to see if we want to meet up for a meal! I enjoy the social aspect of dining together and can always bring my own snacks of eat beforehand.

Fotor0523131135

What I’ve been eating lately:

Fotor0523143031

What I’ve been using lately: 

Redmond Earthpaste Toothpaste – amazing natural toothpaste! I bought it in Cinnamon flavor. It has safe-to-eat ingredients, no sodium lauryl sulfate, no fluoride, no glycerin, and the benefits of bentonite clay. Although it doesn’t foam and the taste + texture take a bit of getting used to – my teeth feel super clean! I switch between this toothpaste and Jason’s Natural Toothpaste (Tea Tree & Cinnamon).

Jojoba Oil – My latest obsession! You can find this many places but I bought mine at Trader Joe’s for under $8. I’m still using coconut oil instead of traditional body lotions but have started using jojoba oil on my face as a cleanser, moisturizer, and to remove make up. It’s lighter than coconut oil, less greasy. and soaks in faster. I use this as a leave in conditioner too. Just a few small drops will do ya!

Alaffia Everyday Shea Moisturizing Shampoo – using this more than Morrocco Method nowadays. Although I still like Morrocco Method, Alaffia has come back as a favorite now that I’ve started pairing it with jojoba oil as a leave-in conditioner. My hair is soft, shiny, and no longer feels greasy, dull, or weighed down.

___________

So, that’s what’s been going on over here!

Again, if you have any questions about things I’ve written about or about MRT/LEAP in general just let me know. Wishing you all good health and happiness!

To read the next installment of this series click here.

5 thoughts on “Living LEAP: Phase 3 & Phase 4

  1. It’s wonderful to see you looking and feeling healthier. You really have a good attitude and stick-to-it-ness about learning how to cook for wellness.

  2. Pingback: Living LEAP: Phase 5 | Mr.C & Me

  3. Pingback: Living LEAP: Phase 2 & the start of 3 | Mr.C & Me

thanks for commenting!

