Living LEAP: Phase 2 & the start of 3

Don’t know what LEAP/MRT is? Missed the start of this series? Click here to catch up!

I moved into Phase 2 about 2.5 weeks ago and have recently started Phase 3. I’ll admit I did skip over a few food items from my lists for Phases 2 & 3 (soybeans and millet, yeah… didn’t excite me) and only half-heartedly tried a few others (squash, papaya) – so I intend to go slowly through Phase 3 and maybe re-test a few from Phase 2 that I didn’t quite give due diligence.

The foods I can introduce during Phase 2 include:

soybeans (whole), millet, corn, avocado, asparagus, lima beans, squash, plum, grapefruit, cocoa, cow’s milk, honey, vanilla, and baking soda

So far, from Phase 2, I have successfully tested / added back:

asparagus, avocado, lima beans, plums, cow’s milk, corn, and baking soda (I use for cleaning and mix with coconut oil as a face scrub occasionally), honey, vanilla, and cocoa

The foods I can introduce during Phase 3 include:

clam, tuna, shrimp, rye, barley, amaranth, cranberry, papaya, honeydew melon, whey, cane sugar, carob, garlic, parsley

So far, from Phase 3, I have successfully tested / added back: 

honeydew melon, shrimp, squash, cranberry, cane sugar, papaya, tuna

How I’m feeling: I have had a few small headaches during Phase 2 & 3 but am unable to tell if that’s due to lack of sleep/water or stress (jaw clenching) or a certain food. I plan to backtrack through my food journal, re-test a few things, and make note of my moods & situations to see if I can pinpoint the problem. Besides the occasional headache, I am feeling really really good. Losing a little more weight here and there. I should stress again that this is not my goal or reason for doing LEAP – it’s a perk. As is clearer skin and a little more energy. My main purpose for doing the MRT testing and following through with LEAP meal plan is to get my GI issues under control, which (knock on wood) have so far been non-existent since participating in LEAP. Yay!

Screen Shot 2014-04-04 at 10.00.16 PM

What I’ve been eating:

  • grilled pork and green beans with coconut aminos (an alternative to soy sauce and oh so tasty!)
  • shrimp/scallops with corn noodle pasta in butter and feta cheese sauce with lima beans on the side
  • pork tenderloin made in the crockpot with a little apple juice served with roasted carrots and potatoes
  • beef soup with corn, carrots, and 100% buckwheat noodles
  • asparagus (sometimes wrapped in prosciutto) with side of oven-roasted squash, green apples, sweet potatoes topped with cinnamon-honey butter
  • polenta pizza (polenta slices rubbed with olive oil & topped with tomato sauce and goat cheese)
  • steak, green beans, and sweet potatoes
  • snacks: fresh fruit, roasted almonds with a sprinkle of salt, dried apricots & prunes, avocado, yogurt, chocolate pudding (made from avocados, honey, milk, cocoa powder + vanilla), jello (made from cranberry juice, frozen raspberries, and Great Lakes Unflavored Gelatin – read about the many benefits of gelatin here), chocolate from Alter Eco and Theo Chocolate (no soy lecithin in these delicious treats!)

Screen Shot 2014-04-04 at 10.20.35 PM

What I’ve been using: 

Alaffia Everyday Shea Moisturizing Shampoo (Lavender)

As I mentioned in Phase 1, this was the first shampoo I started using and I did so for about a month. Initially, I complained about how quickly my hair got oily but that is all part of the detox that comes with switching from chemical products to natural. Eventually it balanced out and I could go three days without washing and with very minimal oil. It was nice. I learned though some research that it is best when using natural shampoos to actually shampoo twice. The first shampoo is the cleanse the hair and scalp and get rid of any debris. The second shampoo stimulates and nourishes the scalp/hair follicles and activates your oil glands.

Morrocco Method (Shampoo, Conditioner, leave-in conditioner)

My new love! Although Alaffia was doing a decent job, my hair was still kind of dull and not as soft and smooth as it used to be when I was using my chemical-filled Aussie products (pre-LEAP). Then I stumbled upon Morrocco Method; a company that makes wild-​crafted, raw, vegan, and gluten-​free hair care products. I found a coupon online and ordered sample size bottles of their Heavenly Chi shampoo, Chi Instant conditioner, and Diamond Crystal Mist leave-in conditioner/moisturizer. Been using for about a week now and adore the way my hair feels! Well, that is when it behaves. My scalp is still detoxing all the sulfates/chemicals so it still gets oily/matted on occasion. But on days it’s behaving and not throwing a tantrum my hair’s soft, light, and not weighed down (which is how the shea butter in Alaffia sometimes made me feel).

Morrocco Method’s best seller is their Apple Cider Vinegar Shampoo which I’d love to try but sadly it has sesame in it (a sensitivity of mine). But if you wanted to try a product that might be the place to start, otherwise they have some sample kits you can purchase. I love that their products are free of sulfates, parabens, and chemicals AND that you can actually recognize the ingredients. It’s definitely a transition using Morrocco Method products because natural shampoos don’t sudse/foam up and it actually feels a bit like you’re washing your hair with mud. But trust me – so worth it! :) They even have a $13 sample pack with 5 shampoos if you’d like to give it a try.

Bare Minerals Makeup

I’ve been hearing rave reviews from family and friends so I decided to order a starter kit for Bare Minerals. The nice thing is that the majority of their products don’t have anything I’m sensitive too! And, I really like the way it’s made my skin look and feel. Sadly, I recently ran across this article that points out a few of the not so good things about Bare Minerals. Womp womp. Turns out I’ve got much to learn about the world of natural (and so-called natural) makeup. But, baby steps! I plan to use Bare Minerals until I run out then hopefully switch to some safer but similar products if I can find them. For a decent list of natural makeup options click here. I’d like to look into trying 100% Pure or Cowgirl Dirt but will have to be careful that they don’t contain oats, rice, etc. since these are things I’m sensitive to and are often used in natural makeup. A great site where you can check ingredients in makeup and other beauty products is EWG’s Skin Deep database.

I’m also still using all other products I listed in my Phase 1 recap.

___________

So, that’s what’s been going on over here!

Again, if you have any questions about things I’ve written about or about MRT/LEAP in general just let me know. Wishing you all good health and happiness!

To read the next installment of this series click here.

6 thoughts on “Living LEAP: Phase 2 & the start of 3

  1. Those are some delicious sounding menu items. You should be proud of yourself for tackling this health issue with such a positive attitude.

    • Aw, thanks Anndee! I’m hoping it’ll help inspire others to get creative with their dishes and take their heath/eating etc. a little more seriously. Because before starting LEAP/MRT I sure wasn’t. Learning so much and so grateful for it!

  2. Pingback: Living LEAP: Phase 3 & Phase 4 | Mr.C & Me

  3. Pingback: Living LEAP: Phase 2 | Mr.C & Me

thanks for commenting!

