Living LEAP: An Intro

In a week or so I’ll officially start my journey to get healthy from the inside out.

As my dear family + close friends know, I’ve been battling some gastrointestinal issues that could no longer be ignored (that’s as TMI as I’ll get, I promise☺).

Until a few weeks ago, I was at the end of my rope, frustrated, lost, and very uncomfortable.

I started noticing my GI issues here or there during my last two years of college and once I got married & moved to Minnesota the symptoms slowly started to increase and occur more often. But I always brushed it off or attributed it to something else  – stress, lack of exercise, overeating, unhealthy eating, drinking, etc.

Finally it got to the point where my symptoms were screaming at me and I was swearing back at them and something had to be done. I was miserable. I mentioned my troubles to my general physician who referred me to a GI doctor…but it was going to be many, many months before I could get into see him and I needed something now.

Thankfully, my coworker told me about something that really turned her life around and I hope it does the same for me!

The MRT test (Mediator Release Test) is a specialized blood test that checks your immune system response (or non-response) to 150 foods and chemicals. The MRT test does a live cell analysis that identifies foods and chemicals which provoke the release of mediators that cause pain and inflammation.

Once results from the MRT are obtained, the next step is to follow an individualized LEAP (Lifestyle, Eating, And Performance) plan which systematically builds a healthy diet of foods that can be tolerated.

Common symptoms of food sensitivities can include:

  • fatigue
  • sleepiness after eating
  • insomnia
  • mental fog
  • anxiety
  • depression
  • irritability
  • headaches
  • acne
  • high blood pressure
  • skin disorders
  • weight problems
  • sinus issues
  • join & muscle pain
  • constipation/diarrhea
  • gas & bloating
  • acid reflux
  • mouth sores
  • coughing
  • food cravings …. and more!

In addition, many chronic conditions may be made worse by food and chemical sensitivities.

A few examples include:

  • Irritable Bowl Syndrom (IBS)
  • Migraines
  • Fibromyalgia
  • Crohn’s disease and Ulcerative Colitis
  • Gastroesophageal Reflux Disease (GERD)
  • Autism Spectrum disorders
  • Skin conditions like psoriasis, eczema, acne
  • Arthritis (osteo or rheumatoid)
  • Asthma
  • Any autoimmune disease (rheumatoid arthritis, Type 1 Diabetes, celiac disease, hashimoto’s, lupus, etc.)

However, the MRT test is a test for food sensitivities NOT allergies. I know, it’s weird because it seems like they would be so similar right? But, from what I’ve read, food sensitivities apparently activate a different component of the immune system than food allergies. The MRT test looks for non-IgE immune responses to food and may reveal a more delayed reaction to the foods/chemicals a body is sensitive to. Food allergies on the other hand react to IgE mediators in the immune system. So, the MRT test is not a test for food allergies, just as a food allergy test will not test food sensitivities.

Anyway, after lots of research and chats with other individuals who did the MRT or similar testing, I knew this would be a really good option for me.

So, I followed my gut (pun intended☺) and contacted a wonderful, local Twin Cities dietitian, Komel, who also thought I’d be a good candidate for the testing + elimination diet plan.

We recently sent my blood off to get tested and Komel is currently is working analyzing the results + creating my personalized LEAP meal plan.

Since this is going to be such a big part of my life for the next 6+ months, I am of course going to be documenting my LEAP journey on this blog. Not only is it something I’ll want to remember but if I am able to help someone else who is in a similar situation then that will be great too!

To be continued…. 

Click here for Part 2 where I reveal the results of my MRT test!

xo, meg

10 thoughts on “Living LEAP: An Intro

  1. Pingback: Living LEAP: My MRT / Food Sensitivity Test Results | Mr.C & Me

  2. yay I am glad that you are getting things figured out :) Can’t wait to read about some of the changes that you will be making. I really should get some testing done but I an just not at a place in life right now where I could make those changes and be completely committed to them.

    • Thanks for commenting! It’s going to be rough at first, relearning how to eat & all, and you are right it will definitely require a high-level of commitment. I’m a little nervous but am finally to the point where I have the energy and time to devote to it. As you might have noticed in my post…it took me quite some time to get this realization and to the point where I was ready to make this drastic change. :) Wishing you all the best as well!!

  3. Pingback: currently | Mr.C & Me

  4. Pingback: Living LEAP: Phase 1 | Mr.C & Me

  5. I got my LEAP results back 1 week ago and I’m in Phase 1 of the nutrition plan. I cannot stop crying. I already drastically cut my diet 6 months ago when I was diagnosed with Hashimoto’s. My LEAP results told me I cannot eat these things anymore: turkey, chicken, egg yolk, fructose, lecithin, cranberry, leeks, lemon, cabbage, salmon, crab, shrimp, basil, parsley, cane sugar, grape, strawberry, honeydew, and hops. I also have to be gluten and dairy free because of my health condition. I was eating turkey sausage, eggs, and chicken every single day! I am devastated and have no desire to eat.

    • I’m so sorry to hear that! Phase 1 is already such a struggle that with your additional challenges it must seem impossible! I really wish I had some suggestions for you but unfortunately I do not. Your results are curious though especially with turkey/eggs/chicken coming up red since they are items you are eating every day. The LEAP theory suggests that our bodies are more likely to become intolerant to things we consume too often. Maybe this is what happened during the last 6 months and you’ll be able to eat them again soon but in moderation? Either way, I hope your dietitian will be able to advise you on ways to deal with the frustration of Phase 1 and help you find get some peace and relief as you work through the nutrition plan. Good luck with your journey.

thanks for commenting!

