currently

Reading… a stack of YA books Jen passed along to me, been getting through about half a book a night – sometimes you just need those easy, like candy, mindless reads

Listening… to a variety of things – like always. Today it was showtunes, LordeThe Sapphires soundtrack, Ladysmith Black Mambazo (will be at the Ordway in St.Paul in Feb), and Bastille’s debut studio-album Bad Blood.

Watching… Survivor’s season premiere and Teen Mom 3 while waiting for my fall favorites to come back – really can’t wait for Grey’s Anatomy + Parenthood.

Eating… lots of tilapia with lemon, Annie Chun’s Udon Soup, plums, and Snack Factory’s Pretzel Crisps

Researching… my family’s genealogy. Recently discovered I’m a descendant of Henry and Mary Newland Howland. If that sounds familiar to any of you it’s because Henry’s brother, John Howland, was a passenger on the Mayflower. My line comes down from Henry > his son Zoeth > Nicholas (Hanna Woodman) > Job (Naomi Chase) > Gilbert (Elizabeth Lapham) > Johnathan (Mary Sprague) > Michael (Mary Taylor/Sarah Taylor – he married Sarah after her sister/his first wife Mary’s death) > my great great grandma Kittie > my great grandma Mamie > my GMA > my mama > me :)

Looking… ahead to my busy schedule– cabin weekend up north, work conference in Chicago, visit from Mom+GMA, & trip down to Florida to see Mr.C’s dad + fam

Hoping… to make a placement soon at work so I can break my 3 month dry spell. Lately we’ve just had too many candidates dropping off the grid, getting counteroffers, or leaving work for bizarre reasons.

Playing… Candy Crush like a fiend! That shit’s addicting!

Loving… this video footage from our wedding 2 years ago that somehow we’d never gotten a chance to see before! I feel weird watching myself but also adore that someone caught this particular bit of the ceremony because it was my favorite part – vows, rings, and then the entire audience pronouncing us married. The energy in that room at that moment was just unreal.

Nervous… for all my upcoming firsts – namely, flying by myself to Chicago and getting a tattoo in November – eekz!

Thrilled… with the progress we’ve been making in the loan department, down to $27K. Now if only we could win the lottery or magically come into a large sum of money :)

Needing… to catch upon laundry + dishes. The cold I caught this week is kinda kicking my butt.

Dreaming… of swimming in the ocean while the winds hum this tune

Waiting… for my Zombie class to start. Yep, you read that right! I signed up for a MOOC (massive open online courses) called Society, Science, Survival: Lessons from AMC’s The Walking Dead, which runs from Oct 14 to Dec 20, 2013. It’s being put on by the University of California – Irvine and you can enroll here. All I’m sayin’ is it’s free and who doesn’t want to be ready for the apocalypse? ;)

So…what’s current with you all?!

xo, meg

6 thoughts on “currently

  1. Cool beans on the family research. Will be interested in details of your sources on the Mayflower descendent. Lots of fun things planned so take care of that cold

thanks for commenting!

