workin’ girl

So last Monday I started a new part-time job for a recruiting and staffing group that specializes in Factory Automation, Process Control, Instrumentation, Manufacturing Engineers, Building Automation, Renewable Energy Industries and other technical and sales positions.

Considering that I don’t have any experience in the field of automation, it goes without saying that I have a lot to learn! Currently, I am getting my feet wet by training in the various databases used by the company + attempting to match potential candidates with job openings. It is a lot of reading resumes and researching so I’m definitely getting my Nancy Drew on!

And since I’ve never done any work like this before, my first week was a mixture of frustration+confusion and excitement. It is so nice to be making money and to be trying something new but everyone who knows me knows I like to get things right on the first try, so this new position is definitely pushing me, but in a very good way, a way I probably needed.

A few random deets about my new job:

The office is located in Eden Prairie  + I work there MWF.

I wake up at 5:30am to get ready before walking 1mi to the bus which leaves at 6:40am.

the city at sunrise

I ride the fancypants express bus and during rush hours the buses get to drive on the shoulder.

staring out the window at the... ground?!

my bus ride lasts 40minutes and since I get carsick if I try to read – I rock out to music, txt my little fingers off, and take silly pictures during my rides instead – oh and I sleep… a lot

my phone has this cool feature i just discovered - you can add frames or hats to your photos!

Anyway, this post has been the promised update on my new work situation.

Please excuse my sporadic posting for a bit as I settle in and adjust to life as a workin’ girl. Starting tomorrow, my next day off won’t be ’til Sunday! …ahh, adulthood….

Have a great week everyone!

6 thoughts on “workin’ girl

  1. Oh wow! I couldn’t imagine a 9 to 5!!! My dad owned a staffing company for 30 years… {now he just plays golf} I hope you have unmeasured success in your new position!

    • haha i know, i haven’t worked a “real” day job in so long! definitely gonna take a bit to get back into the groove. thanks so much for the well-wishes!!

thanks for commenting!

