Fill In The Blank Friday

Time for one of my favorite link-ups! Thanks as always to Lauren, over at The Little Things We Do, for hosting Fill In The Blank Friday.

1.   My favorite place I’ve ever traveled to is Hawaii! It was absolutely beautiful, completely relaxing, filled with a ton of great adventures + lots of ocean time, and it marked the first time I’d ever been on a plane. So yes, Hawaii is definitely my #1 gal  – followed by (if you care) New York City, Florida beaches, & Vermont in the fall.

2. “out West” is somewhere I’d love to go someday. I wanted to switch it up this time and so, instead of my usual europe-related answers, I want to someday head west of the Mississippi to visit the mountains, ghost towns, redwood forest, & other national parks.

3.  I pass the time on a plane (or bus, or car ride or train) by reading (but only on a plane, any other vehicle and I get sick), listening to music, lip-syncing in the side mirror, and sleeping.

4.  My three must-haves when I travel are snacks, music and good travel companions.

5.  My favorite travel companion is  ooo this is a toughy. I don’t think I can narrow it down. I have had ridiculous roadtrip adventures with my friends, conquered the East Coast with Kt, went to paradise with Mr.C, and inherited the travel bug from my mama – we went on tons of trips when I was a kid and are still known to just hop in a car & go “off on a toot”.

6.  The craziest thing that ever happened to me while traveling is easy. Hands down – me + Kt in NYC.

While on a student exchange in Rhode Island we had the chance to take a tour bus to NYC : they’d drop us off, we’d spend the day doing whatever, then they’d bring us back to the college (URI) again. Anyway, we’d had a blast so far in NYC – eating pizza, hanging out on Broadway, sightseeing on the open-air tour bus in the sleety-rain (it was Dec.), visiting 30Rock & seeing someone get proposed to on the rink. It was great!

Not wanting to be late, we made our way back to the pick up stop for the bus… one hour early. Being stranded in NYC was not something either of us wanted to do really. Standing around we realized there were 5 blocks lined with buses. At the place where ours was supposed to be was another bus. We ran up and down the block few times looking for the buses. Minutes ticked by and still no bus or people we recognized. We started to get a little panicky, after all, the bus people had said that if we weren’t on the bus at 7pm we would be left behind….

Once 7:20pm hit we had to give up and face the fact that we were stuck in NYC and had to find our own way home. Days later we would find out that the bus people had changed the place of pick up and we would have only known had we called the coordinator that afternoon to find out… Ugh…

So here we are, 2 Illinois girls stranded in NYC. Figuring we could perhaps catch a train home we ran the millions of blocks to Union Station only to find out that no train went to URI from there. Disheartened, we called a friend back at URI who said trains left from Penn Station and that there was one leaving in an hour. Dashing about 10 more CITY blocks, in our soaking wet clothes, and in the dark, we made it to Penn Station only to find out that the train had left an hour earlier and that the next one wouldn’t be leaving until… *gasp* 3:20 AM!!!

Grabbing some food and a book we begrudgingly bought tickets and proceeded to spend the night in the train station…. Not an experience I’d like to have again. We were especially wary after all the stores closed and we sat in the lounge watching homeless people wandering in to sleep and drunk students yelling at each other. Good times. Definitely my most crazy/memorable travel experience.

7.  The most exotic food I’ve ever tried while traveling is poi.

8.  If I could live anywhere else, I’d live in Hawaii, but I’d settle for anywhere near an ocean really. Ideally – somewhere up on the East Coast, where I can be close to the big cities (Philly, NYC, Washington DC, etc) & close to the ocean but far enough from the snakes in South Carolina & the gators in Florida. Ha!

9.  I have been to  Twenty-nine  states in the U.S.

Although I originally wasn’t going to count Colorado since I only spent 20mins in an airport there but after consulting the question it wanted states I’d “been” to not “spent significant time in”.

P.S. Mama & Kt, let me know if I imagined visiting some of the smaller states on the East Coast – my memory is a little foggy as they all blend together in my mind apparently lol

Happy Friday everyone!! 

xo, Meg

8 thoughts on “Fill In The Blank Friday

  1. SC is known for snakes?! Really?! It’s always funny to me when I learn about new “stereotypes.” For example, yesterday I learned from a black- co-worker that black people think white people don’t know how to cook or can’t cook well. Cracked me up! :)

    • haha that’s hilarious! oh and I only mention snakes as an inside joke because going south we were joking about “swamps” and snakes etc. and when we visited an old confederate war site there was a huge sign in the tall grass that said “warning snakes”.

  2. Umm.. We didn’t go to Delaware or Maryland. But we hit up the rest. I bet you went to those with your mama though. So I counted my states and I have been to 27 states! Close, but not quite 29 yet.

  3. I would highly recommend the west side of the states. It’s pretty awesome *not to brag or anything* ;) Although, I haven’t been anywhere east of Montana. Pretty sad, huh?
    I also can’t imagine being stuck in NYC. We almost got lost in the Portland subway/train stations and that was enough for me.

    • well as you can tell I’ve barely been west of the Mississippi river so that’s kinda sad – but hopefully a roadtrip in the future will cure all that! :)

      haha yeah, it was quite the adventure being in NYC!

thanks for commenting!

