Dear Monday

As always, I’m linking up with Happy Day for Dear Monday.

Dear Monday, how did you get here so soon?! My two days off are just flying by. And it’s Dec. 12 already too?! Unbelievable….

Dear Peter Pan, after stumbling upon the newest version of you on Netflix, I realized how much I love you. From the many remakes to the Disney cartoon (that I adore!) to the related “Finding Neverland” and finally to my absolute all-time favorite Peter Pan musical with the lovely Mary Martin – Neverland will always have a special place in my heart. I even vaguely remember seeing Peter Pan on stage when I was young. With our seats on the edge of the balcony and the cast flying high into the wings it was pure magic. I’m sure I roped my friends into playing “Peter Pan” dress up for weeks after that. But, honestly, how can you not love Peter Pan, Neverland, and all the colorful characters! I mean – Captain Hook is downright delicious, Tiger Lily is both cute & brave, and who doesn’t love saucy Tink? Oh and of course the ticking Croc!  

The two clips below are from Peter Pan w/ Mary Martin (1960). It’s a must see!! Mary’s charming (but that Hook sure is a scene stealer!!)

And what’s this I hear?! There’s a new Syfy original movie called “Neverland” that came out last week! Yes please! I adored their Wizard of Oz mini-series “Tin Man”. Cannot wait to watch Syfy’s “Neverland”…..Now if only someone would remake Peter Pan yet again….with Alan Rickman as Hook! drools

Dear Christmas Lights, Mr.C & I looked everywhere and finally found you at Family Dollar (and whatta bargain!). I cannot wait to hang you up and marvel in your white twinkly goodness. I’d say Happy Holidays to us except that I’ll probably leave you up all year round. You’re too pretty to take down!

Dear Laundry Machine, can you take an IOU….just this once? I’ve got mounds to do and zero quarters.

Dear New Candle, I was skeptical at first but you are scrumptious. The scent of Creme Brulee is perfect for this time of year!

Dear Mac laptop, how I miss you! When you first started having problems charging two months ago I thought it was the charger so I replaced it. After working for a few weeks you are up to your same old awful tricks again! Is it because I bought a knockoff charger from ebay? Or is your battery dying? After much research I’m leaning toward battery at the moment but don’t really wish to shell out 85$ to fix it at the moment. For now I’ll have to keep plugging along on Mr.C’s computer. But just know that I do miss you quite a lot and I hope we can be reunited again soon.

Dear Baby D., today is your due date! I know your Mom & Dad are really excited for you to get here and be welcomed by the world!…but it doesn’t look like you’re going to be making your debut yet. So, when you do decide to join us – do so quickly (and safely!) because everyone is eagar for a healthy, holiday baby —and that’s so you kid! Can’t wait to see your little face! love, Uncle Mr.C & Aunt “Me”

Dear New Music Monday, I vowed not to forget you again and so far I have not! The songs below have been heavily played on my iPod during every bus ride this week.

“We Are Young” sung the cast of Glee (originally by NY-based band, fun.)

“A Case Of You” by James Blake (a Joni Mitchell cover)

“White Christmas” by Otis Redding (my favorite version!)

“Pumped Up Kicks” by Foster The People

So, there you have it! Happy Monday everyone!

xo, “Me”

Dear

8 thoughts on “Dear Monday

  1. OMG. I totally forgot about the Mary Martin Peter Pan!!!! “Lovelier thoughts MICHAEL!” and “little ole me” from the Cap’in brings back many memories of laughing fits. Thanks for reminding me.

    • anytime! you can watch it all on youtube actually! (well they’ll be split into segments but still!). haha ‘oh the cleverness of me!” and yes “lovelier thoughts michael!” is still awesome. i love captain hook’s songs too and smee cracks me up also – “what tempo capatain?!” “tempotempotempo….. a tango!” hehe

    • right?! i can’t begin to count the # of ideas i’ve saved on pinterest on ways to keep twinkle lights lookin’ “fresh” all year round. :) they are just so pretty and warm, esp. at night.

  2. Oh I loooove that We Are Young song by Fun…but i have yet to listen to the glee version because I will be watching the show later this week. Excitedd! Enjoy the sparkle of new Christmas lights and have a happy Monday :]

    I hope you’ll check out my blog, plus a link up called Wish! {out loud} that I hope you’ll participate in!

    http://flyingfarandfree.blogspot.com/

thanks for commenting!

