Fill In The Blank Friday

It’s Fill In The Blank Friday! Linking up with Lauren over at The Little Things We Do for today’s post.

My goal for December has been to stay away from doing too many holiday themed posts especially since all the other blogs I follow are going capital C Crazy for Christmas. While I’m as excited about the season as the next blogger…. it’s only Dec. 2nd people!

Besides I’ve never been one to count down the days or listen to the 24/7 Christmas radio station. I do enjoy the twinkly lights all around town, Christmas Eve candle light service, sledding, and getting together with friends & family. But since most of the really good stuff happens about a week before the big day – I think I’ll wait ’til then to get my Christmas Crazy on. ;)

So if you enjoy my botched cooking attempts, mundane chore-doings, & weekend adventures, then no worries because there’s plenty more of those to come – in addition to the great stories I’m sure to have after starting my new job on Monday. Also – if there’s something you want me to blog about let me know. I’m always open to new ideas or rustling up an old favorite!

Now, on to today’s Fill In The Blank. This post is an exception the ridiculous speech I just made (as featured above). I am sticking with tradition, filling in the blanks, and although it’s  about the holiday season – I’m doing it anyway. Because it’s Fill In The Blank Friday! (…and now I sorta see why none of my New Year’s resolutions work out….lol).

1.   The holiday season is a time for thankfulness and appreciation. A time for giving. A time for hope. A time for reflection of self, friends, and family. A time for celebrating life. A time to hold loved ones extra close.

2.   Snow makes me excited! It’s so fluffy and pretty and looks gorgeous and glowy on the ground. It’s a great excuse to go out sledding or stay in all warm & cozy. But once people trample all over it and it’s all slushy and dirty then it’s sorta no fun anymore and make me ache for Fall again. Plus snow stresses me out sometimes because driving + snow = a nerve-wracked Megan. I don’t care how long you’ve lived here or how many snow storms you’ve survived – you people still don’t know how to drive safely in it! I’m so thankful we live in the city now so we can take the bus to avoid the madness once the “real” snow hits.

3.  The best comfort food to eat when it’s cold out is soup and lots of it. With bread!

4. Winter is the best time for movie marathons. I have many memories of barricading ourselves in the house and watching Lord of the Rings, Harry Potter, and Star Wars with Mr.C, my mama, and the brother. What fun! Plus that’s when we concocted our favorite popcorn dish – popcorn, extra melted butter, and cinnamon sugar sprinkled all over it. Delicious! 

5.  I can hardly wait for seeing what new holiday traditions we come up with for this year. Rumor is St.Paul hosts a Christmas Parade! Plus we’ve gotta see Minnehaha falls in the winter, the Como Park & Zoo is open Christmas day (penguins + Christmas = uhm yes please!), and there’s also an ice skating rink around here.

6.  When it comes to holiday gifts I prefer to buy & wrap them early. DIY them when I can or find unique gifts (usually online) that I hope they’ll love.

7.  If I were to rate my excitement about the holiday season on a scale from 1-10, I would say I am at about a 5 or 6.

As a kid I was super stoked about Christmas – it was always this huge celebration, seemed to last forever, the gifts were awesome, and I could sled down the hill more than twice without getting tired. In high school & college Christmas rocked because you got a bunch of days off for break, were finally finished with the stressful semester, could hang out and do crazy stuff with friends, and the family was always happy to see you.

This Christmas…it’s about finding our own place in this season’s festivities. We’re sort of in-between right now. We’re not in college anymore, so we don’t get all the time off & there is no extra celebration because finals are over. We also aren’t kids anymore nor do we have little ones of our own yet. It’s our first “grown up” Christmas which is why I think this holiday season feels a bit different and kinda weird.

But I do love the feeling you get around this time of year so I definitely plan to work  to my number up to at least a 9 and to celebrate the crap out of our first Christmas as

Happy Friday everyone! xo, “Me”

thanks for commenting!

